MD2K Webinars

 | mHealthTraining Institute | mHTI lectures | MD2K Webinars | Other mHealth Videos |

The MD2K Webinar series is part of the Training Core of the MD2K Center. These webinars are part of the curriculum that MD2K is providing to students in both data science and the biomedical disciplines to further the process of building the next generation of scientists capable of using these highly sophisticated biomedical applications.


Dr. Santosh Kumar and Dr. Gary Clifford will speak Nov. 3 at a roundtable on "Mobile Health Analytics: Addressing Disparities in the Southern United States," as part of the South Big Data Hub's monthly series on emerging data science challenges.

The webinar will be noon-1:30 p.m. EDT and can be accessed  via WebEx here. Dr. Lea Shanley, South Hub co-Executive Director of the South Big Data Hub, will moderate.

The webinar will explore the science challenges of mHealth informatics, critical care data analysis and the application of signal processing and machine learning to address health disparities in the Southern United States.

 

A panel discussion on the use of physical activity wearables and apps for clinical purposes will be conducted by the Stanford Mobilize Center and MD2K on Thursday, March 17 from 9:45 a.m.-11 a.m. PT (11:45 a.m.-1 p.m. CT, 12:45 p.m.-2 p.m. ET). 

As the wearables market continues its remarkable growth, there is an increased awareness and interest to utilize this technology for clinical and research purposes. The ability to gather information from patients 24/7 on a long-term basis and to study and influence the behaviors and health of millions of individuals in real-time has the potential to radically transform medicine, health policy, and biomedical research. How close is this vision to becoming a reality? What are the barriers to this vision and what can be done to overcome them?